Stay Accountable!

20140701-120045.jpg

PiYo 60-Day Workout Calendar
I just touched the surface on this in my last post, however I think its an important message to share with people. It’s one of those things many of us experience, but few of us talk very openly about for fear of looking weak or being embarrassed.
In my last post I shared how I didn’t make it past DAY THREE of this new PiYo program I’ve started. I was even so excited for it that I started this blog entirely dedicated to this program. Not even that got me to stick with it through my busy weekend!

So how do you get past losing interest, losing motivation, GIVING UP?
I’m far from perfect, but here are some tips I’ve come up with through my personal fitness journey.

1) Know WHY you started in the first place. And make it about MORE than just the superficial.
Sure, you may want to lose 5 lbs, 4 inches from your waist, or build a more shapely booty, but that’s not going to happen overnight! Sorry!
You need a reason that will pull you through and get you to stick with it even on the days that you don’t see immediate change. Maybe you want to FEEL BETTER, have more energy, prove to yourself that you can finish a 60 day program, improve your flexibility and do a split, etc. Whatever it is, own your why!
Say it out loud! Tell other people WHY you started daily. This will make it more of a priority in your daily life even when you don’t see those immediate results.

2) Be Okay with giving up.
Wait…Say what?!
What I mean here is be OKAY with the fact that you took a break. Heck, even call it a break, never a failure. As long as you’re still alive and have the opportunity to start again, you can never REALLY fail! Once you’ve accepted the fact that things didn’t go as planned the first (or second, or third… ;D ) time, you can move on and get back to business stronger than when you first began! What good does beating yourself up over a bump in the road do? NONE!

3) Get an accountability partner!
You don’t have to do this alone! Find a friend who has similar goals and wants to start getting healthier/stronger/super sexy along with you πŸ˜‰ And if you don’t have a friend near you who wants to do that, get an online coach. There’s tons of us who do it for free (always feel free to ask me for more info on that, I LOVE helping people stay motivated and accountable to their goals). It’s easy to sleep in, go home early, or take a nap instead of working out when its just you, if you’re doing it with someone else or telling someone else about your workouts, you may find yourself less likely to skip them!
Some of us need to have someone to give them a kick in the ass sometimes! (No shame…I’m one of those people, as well!)

4) Change your outlook.
When I stopped looking at working out as a chore and something I did because I hated my body, everything changed! (Well…In some aspects, because I did just need to restart my PiYo program haha ;D )
Instead of a chore, it should be something you’re LUCKY that you’re able to do! You have the health to stand up straight, to bend over and pick something up off the ground, to lift a heavy bag of groceries. This is your health and you are fortunate enough to have it! As cheesy as it sounds, do this because it is a gift to your body! Be happy about working out, and if you arent having fun with your workouts, Get a NEW Workout! Spice it up and get moving!
Workout because you love your body, not because you hate it!

5) If you’re doing an at home program, just put in the DVD and see what happens!
Seriously, I’ve done this in the past! I remember sitting down on the couch, planning on taking a nap, but I made myself put the DVD in, sat back down, and within 1-2 minutes, guess what? I got my butt off the couch and got the workout done! And felt even more energized afterwards than I bet I would have had I taken a nap! The only workout you’ll regret is the one you don’t do!

6) Invest in gear that makes you feel good.
No, this doesn’t mean you need to go and spend $300 on a new lululemon outfit or $150 on a new pair of the latest sneakers. It means get clothes that make you feel good about yourself and excited to workout!
Shocker!!!!>>>This could be free!!!<<< I cut old tshirts alllll the time into workout shirts, and I get SO excited to wear them, especially if its a tee I haven’t worn in years!
You can also get killer deals at places like TJ Maxx, Marshalls, Old Navy, and Target or Kohls (they both have awesome coupon alerts!)
If you feel good or even excited about your workout clothes, you’re much more likely to put them on, and once you’re wearing them, the workout is a natural progression πŸ™‚

7) SEE your goals.
Write down those goals. Post a workout calendar in a place you’ll see it throughout the day, so it reminds you how important it is. And when you’ve done that days workout, put a big, satisfying X on that day to show you did it! How good does it feel to cross off things on a To-Do list, right?! This is the same idea!
Get it done and show off that you did it!
Put post-its with your goals and positive affirmation around your house, in your car, at your office to remind yourself that you can do this!!!

7) Suck it Up!
Sorry (not sorry πŸ˜‰ lol) about the honesty here, but I’m not going to sugarcoat it…somedays you just have to be willing to suck it up and get it done. Stop thinking about it, researching workouts, telling yourself how busy you are, making excuses because you’re sore or tired, viewing “fitspo” posts online, etc. BE that Fitspiration! Respect yourself enough to Stop wasting your time!

Now that I got those out, any suggestions you’ve found helpful in staying motivated? Comment and share!!!

4 thoughts on “Stay Accountable!

  1. Jennwith2ns

    Great advice.

    I just ordered my PiYo today . . . I was kinda holding out to see if my husband was going to give me money toward it for my birthday, and then I was like, “What the heck–I’m going to buy it either way!” Plus I don’t want to miss the free shipping. πŸ˜‰

    I’m traveling with other people’s teens for the next two weeks, so I’m not even going to try to start it until I get back, but I’m bringing my trusty P90X3, and the second week I’m even leading a Fit Club at the event we’re attending. This is a first. Wish me luck!

    P.S. Thanks for stopping by the Jenn stories. I appreciate it.

    Reply
    1. AngelinaFitness Post author

      Thats so awesome!!! Best of luck with your fit club-Thats so cool! I’m glad you got PiYo while the free shipping’s still happening, too-Such a great program πŸ™‚

      Reply
  2. Pingback: How to start your week fully charged

Leave a Reply

